

201 Presidents Circle, Room 203 · Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-9007 · 801-581-5701

September 9, 2020

Michelle Valdes Kim Clarken Mihir Pimpale Alvin Tsang Beth Cyr Christy Porucznik Ayana Amaechi **Brandon Dalley** Lauren Shapiro Jensie Anderson Sam Dalton Sabah Sial Meligha Garfield Jess Turuc Kelsay Asay Michele Ballantyne **RJ Hubert** Rotating staff:

Dustin Banks Cristal Isa Fall 2020: Clare Lemke
Brian Burton Roberto Martinez Spring 2021: Tricia Sugiyama

Jill Carter Josh Newbury

Dear Colleagues,

We are writing to appoint you to the newly formed Public Safety Advisory Committee, which is charged with assisting the Chief Safety Officer with the development of the strategic direction of the Department of Public Safety in order to enhance the safety and overall quality of life for the University of Utah community.

Committee members will use their varied expertise and areas of specialization to offer advice and constructive criticism to the CSO. They will also assist in educating the U community about programs, services, and initiatives offered by the department, as well as advise the CSO regarding desired services and policies.

You will receive further information about the committee, its responsibilities, meeting schedules, etc. from the co-chairs: ASUU Vice President of Student Relations Michelle Valdes and Presidential Intern Alvin Tsang.

Thank you for your commitment to university safety as demonstrated by your willingness to participate in this important capacity. Please indicate your interest and availability to serve by emailing Keith Squires, Executive Officer to the Chief Safety Officer, keith.squires@utah.edu.

Sincerely.

Ruth V. Watkins President

RW: bw

Cc: Marlon C. Lynch

Chief Safety Officer