

201 Presidents Circle, Room 203 · Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-9007 · 801-581-5701

September 9, 2020

Amos Guiora Scott Allen
Cammy Hall Kate Charipar
Shantel de Arraiz Bob Goldberg
Madeline Harker Brooks Lindberg
April Mills Sabah Sial
Erik Thompson Alvin Tsang

Dear Colleagues,

We are writing to appoint you to the newly formed Independent Review Committee. This committee exists to help ensure confidence in the University of Utah's Department of Public Safety functions by reviewing complaints made against public safety personnel, evaluating the actions of public safety personnel, and when necessary, making recommendations regarding policies and procedures.

The committee will review complaints made by the public that are related to excessive force, violation of rights, abusive language, or dereliction of duty. It is independent from the Department of Public Safety and is not intended to replace the existing formal internal review and disciplinary procedures.

Committee members will receive further information about the committee's responsibilities, existing processes and procedures, meeting schedules, etc. from the chair: Amos Guiora, law professor specializing in criminal law, among other topics.

Thank you for your commitment to the University as demonstrated by your willing participation to serve in this important capacity. Please indicate your interest and availability to serve by emailing Keith Squires, Executive Officer to the Chief Safety Officer, keith.squires@utah.edu.

Sincerely,

Ruth V. Watkins

President

RW:bw

Cc: Marlon C. Lynch

The Warthing

Chief Safety Officer